Transformation Profile – Kelly – lbs lost = 80

photo3
Starting weight-210 pounds

Current weight-130 pounds

I never struggled with my weight until around age 18. I was always little and petite and ate whatever I wanted. Once I moved away from my family, the weight started piling on. I can’t even tell you how many diets I have been on through the years and how many times I got back to exercising and got the weight off only to quit once I reached my goal weight. I have always gone back to my old ways. I am now 40 years old and my real journey began after having my two daughters. At age 36 after having my last child, I weighed in at a whopping 210 pounds. I am five foot one and a half inches tall. I saw a picture of myself that was posted on Facebook by a Family member and I actually didn’t recognize myself. That was it! I found a gym with child care and I walked in feeling self conscious, but I knew what I had to do to get myself out of the funk I was in. I did the South Beach diet and busted my butt and lost 60 pounds in about a year. I was down to 150 and feeling great. Once again, we moved, my life got comfortable and before I knew it at age 38, I was getting up there again and back up to 180 pounds. December of 2012, at age 38, I was at the gym on the adductor machine, going through the motions, but I knew I wasn’t doing what it takes! A Trainer came up to me, told me I was doing it wrong and I looked in the mirror next to me and thought, this is crazy! This is it! I worked with this Trainer who helped me get the first 20 off. Along with cutting out processed food and full body workouts and cardio I continued and pushed myself and managed to lose 55 pounds. My goal was to be as fit as ever by age 40 and that I am.

My current fitness goals are to continue maintaining my loss, to continue to build strength and muscle and to help others by becoming a Personal Trainer. I am taking my exam next month via NASM and I am very excited.

My training program consists of three full body strength training sessions per week. I also do HIIT cardio. Usually sprints 4-5 days per week. I lift heavy weights and do a lot of body weight stuff like pull ups and push ups, also plyometrics and some MMA inspired routines.

A typical day of eating for me is:

Breakfast: Eggs and vegetables/Oatmeal

A protein shake after the gym

Lunch: A salad with lean meat or meat and vegetables

Dinner: Lean meat, veggies, and either quinoa, brown rice, or a sweet potato

I also eat snacks throughout the day which would be nuts, apples and peanut butter, or hummus and vegetables.
I never deprive myself and allow myself to eat the things I love in moderation.

Thanks for allowing me to share my story! Here is a link to my Facebook page! I would love for you all to share in my journey! I hope to inspire as many others as I can to start their own journey.
